Ballon d’Or Winners List

Ballon d’Or Winners List/Washindi Wote Wa Ballon d’Or Wa Muda Wote

Since 1956 there are many Ballon d’Or Winners List, the Ballon d’Or, a famous football award, has been handed annually to the greatest player.

The Ballon d’Or has been given out by France Football separately since 2009, with the exception of a six-year union with FIFA between that year and 2015. Since its establishment, the Ballon d’Or winners list has included the top footballers from each generation.

The Ballon d’Or award has been won by Lionel Messi seven times and Cristiano Ronaldo five times. Since 2008, the pair have shared 12 of the 13 prizes.

Prior to Michel Platini’s hat-trick of trophies from 1983–85, Messi is the first player to win the prize in four straight seasons.

The Ballon d’Or was not given out in 2020, however it is likely to be given out in 2021 to either Robert Lewandowski or Cristiano Ronaldo (who should have won in 2022)

The FIFA Ballon d’Or, which was judged by a panel of journalists, was given out in association with the organization from 2010 until 2015, when FIFA broke away to establish its own, considerably less distinguished “Best Player” award.

Since 2008, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have dominated it, taking home 11 of the 12 trophies available. Luka Modric momentarily ended their monopoly in 2018.

Lewandowski was one of the favorites for the 2021 competition, but six-time champion and Paris Saint-Germain great Messi added a seventh victory.

But when the winner took the award, he thanked the striker. Robert, you merit receiving the Ballon d’Or.

“Everyone agreed that you were the great winner of this award last year,” she said.

Whatever the case, Messi achieved another victory, but how did the football world cup look before Messi and Ronaldo took over? is analyzing that data going all the way back to 2000.

It’s also interesting to examine which players from each year since the start of the millennium made it onto voters’ selections of the best 10 footballers in the world on the Ballon d’Or Winners List.

Ballon d'Or Winners List
Ballon d’Or Winners List

Ballon d’Or Winners List

YearPlayerClub (at time of winning)
2021Lionel MessiPSG
2020NACancelled (Pandemic)
2019Lionel MessiBarcelona
2018Luka ModricReal Madrid
2017Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid
2016Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid
2015Lionel MessiBarcelona
2014Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid
2013Cristiano RonaldoReal Madrid
2012Lionel MessiBarcelona
2011Lionel MessiBarcelona
2010Lionel MessiBarcelona
2009Lionel MessiBarcelona
2008Cristiano RonaldoManchester United
2006Fabio CannavaroReal Madrid
2004Andriy ShvechenkoMilan
2003Pavel NedvedJuventus
2002RonaldoReal Madrid
2001Michael OwenLiverpool
2000Luis FigoReal Madrid
1998Zinedine ZidaneJuventus
1996Matthias SammerBorussia Dortmund
1995George WeahMilan
1994Hristo StoichkovBarcelona
1993Roberto BaggioJuventus
1992Marco van BastenMilan
1991Jean-Pierre PapinMarseille
1990Lothar MatthausInter
1989Marco van BastenMilan
1988Marco van BastenMilan
1987Ruud GullitMilan
1986Igor BelanovDynamo Kyiv
1985Michel PlatiniJuventus
1984Michel PlatiniJuventus
1983Michel PlatiniJuventus
1982Paolo RossiJuventus
1981Karl-Heinz RummeniggeBayern Munich
1980Karl-Heinz RummeniggeBayern Munich
1979Kevin KeeganHamburger SV
1978Kevin KeeganHamburger SV
1977Allan SimonsenBorussia Moenchengladbach
1976Franz BeckenbauerBayern Munich
1975Oleg BlokhinDynamo Kyiv
1974Johan CruyffBarcelona
1973Johan CruyffBarcelona
1972Franz BeckenbauerBayern Munich
1971Johan CruyffBarcelona
1970Gerd MullerBayern Munich
1969Gianni RiveraMilan
1968George BestManchester United
1967Florian AlbertFerencvaros
1966Bobby CharltonManchester United
1964Dennis LawManchester United
1963Lev YashinDynamo Moscow
1962Josef MasopustDukla Prague
1961Omar SivoriJuventus
1960Luis SuarezBarcelona
1959Alfredo di StefanoReal Madrid
1958Raymond KopaReal Madrid
1957Alfredo di StefanoReal Madrid
1956Stanley MatthewsBlackpool

Ballon d’Or Winners List

Nkai Mongo is the man behind all sports content. He is 23 professional blogger with strong passion. He usually hangs out in Twitter and other social networks to gather latest updates.