List of All Golden Boy Winners Since 2003

List of All Golden Boy Winners Since 2003: Sports journalists present the Golden Boy Award to the young European player they believe has been the most remarkable over the course of the last year (two halves to two separate seasons). All candidates must be under 21 and compete in the top division in a European country. After a season with more than 70 appearances for Barcelona, Spain, and Spain U21, Pedri of Barcelona took home the title in 2021.

The award was created in 2003 by the Italian sports weekly Tuttosport. A Bola (Portugal), l’Équipe (France), France Football, Marca (Spain), Mundo Deportivo (Spain), Ta Nea (Greece), Sport Express (Russia), De Telegraaf (Netherlands), and The Times are among the publications that currently take part in voting (United Kingdom).

Each jury may choose five candidates, and they will award the candidate they believe to be the most remarkable 10 points, followed by 7 for second place, 5 for third, 3 for fourth, and 1 for fifth place.

List of All Golden Boy Winners Since 2003

To ensure that other young people have an opportunity, it should be noted that a player may only get the Golden Boy award once. In other words, even though a player is under 21 and competing in Europe’s top leagues, if he wins the award as a youngster, like Kylian Mbappe did, he is no longer eligible to win it again the following year.

YearWinnerClub(s)PositionBirth year
2003Rafael van der VaartNetherlands AjaxMidfielder1983
2004Wayne RooneyEngland EvertonForward1985
2005Lionel MessiSpain BarcelonaForward1987
2006FàbregasEngland ArsenalMidfielder1987
2007Sergio AgüeroSpain Atlético MadridForward1988
2008AndersonEngland Manchester UnitedMidfielder1988
2009Alexandre PatoItaly MilanForward1989
2010Mario BalotelliItaly Inter MilanForward1990
2011Mario GötzeGermany Borussia DortmundMidfielder1992
2012IscoSpain MálagaMidfielder1992
2013Paul PogbaItaly JuventusMidfielder1993
2014Raheem SterlingEngland LiverpoolForward1994
2015Anthony MartialFrance MonacoForward1995
2016Renato SanchesPortugal BenficaMidfielder1997
2017Kylian MbappéFrance MonacoForward1998
2018Matthijs de LigtNetherlands AjaxDefender1999
2019João FélixPortugal BenficaForward1999
2020Erling HaalandGermany Borussia DortmundForward2000
2021PedriSpain BarcelonaMidfielder2002
2022GaviSpain BarcelonaMidfielder2004
List of All Golden Boy Winners Since 2003
List of All Golden Boy Winners Since 2003


Check also:

Nkai Mongo is the man behind all sports content. He is 23 professional blogger with strong passion. He usually hangs out in Twitter and other social networks to gather latest updates.