MTN8 Premier Soccer League 2022

MTN 8 Cup 2023 fixtures, matchups & schedules, MTN8 Premier Soccer League 2022, MTN8 Wafa Wafa Cup 2022, South Africa MTN8 Cup 2022/2023 Fixtures.

MTN8 Premier Soccer League 2022: MTN 8 is a South African soccer cup competition, featuring the top 8 clubs at the close of the previous DStv Premiership season. This competition is one of the longest-standing knockout cup competitions in South Africa, first being contested in 1972. The winner receives R8 million.

The first round is structured such that the team at the top of the previous season’s table plays the team that finished eighth; second place plays seventh; third plays sixth and fourth plays fifth. The semifinals are played over two legs MTN8 Premier Soccer League 2022.

See also  Kaizer Chiefs Fixtures 2022/2023 Season Result

Cellular giants MTN have sponsored the event since 2008. Before then it was known as BP Top 8 (sponsored by BP) and SAA Supa 8 (sponsored by South African Airways).

Results by team
ClubWinsFirst final wonLast final won
Kaizer Chiefs1519742014
Orlando Pirates1019722020
Mamelodi Sundowns419882021
Moroka Swallows319752012
Bidvest Wits319842016
Supersport United320042019

MTN8 Premier Soccer League 2022

The clubs finishing in the top eight (8) positions of the Premier Division of the League in the previous season will participate in the competition. All ties will be decided by the knock-out system. In the first round and in the final clubs will play each other in a single match.

See also Nedbank Cup 2022/2023 South Africa

The club scoring the most goals in the match will qualify for the next round. If both clubs score the same number of goals, extra time of fifteen (15) minutes each way will be played. If the score is level after extra time, penalty kicks will be taken to determine the winner according to the Laws of the Game for MTN8 Premier Soccer League 2022.

MTN8 Premier Soccer League 2022
MTN8 Premier Soccer League 2022

Both semi-final ties will consist of two legs played on a home and away basis. The club which scores a higher aggregate number of goals in the two (2) matches of each semi-final tie will qualify for the final in MTN8 Premier Soccer League 2022.

In the first round and the semi-finals, the Home club will be entitled to play the match at any of its three (3) registered home venues. If the club fails to nominate a satisfactory ground, or where the nominated ground is deemed by the Organising Committee not to satisfy safety, legal, commercial and other logistical requirements, the Organising Committee will nominate a ground and this decision will not be subject to appeal.

Read also PSL South Africa Results, Fixtures, Tables 2022/2023

The final match will be played at a venue decided by the Organising Committee after consulting the competing clubs. The date and kick-off time for each match will be decided by the Organising Committee for MTN8 Premier Soccer League 2022.

Nkai Mongo is the man behind all sports content. He is 23 professional blogger with strong passion. He usually hangs out in Twitter and other social networks to gather latest updates.