TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations

TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations

TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations, CAF is the governing body of African football and was founded in 1957. The founding members are Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia and South Africa. With a membership of 54 Member Associations, the secretariat is based in Egypt.

At the FIFA Congress in 1954 held in Berne, Switzerland, it was voted to recognize Africa as a Confederation. This gave the continent the right to appoint its first representative to the FIFA Executive Committee and the member was Abdel Aziz Abdallah Salem of Egypt.

See this  Ratiba Ya EPL 2022/2023 Msimu Huu

The wheels that led to the birth of CAF were actually set in motion outside Africa, in Lisbon, Portugal in June 1956. The Portuguese capital was playing host to the FIFA Congress, and it was the four African nations in attendance (Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia and South Africa) who carried the African confederation to the baptismal font by taking advantage of that gathering to discuss matters of common interest.

The four nations agreed to meet again in Khartoum, Sudan, in February 1957 after the FIFA Congress in Lisbon to prepare laws and discuss the organization of the inaugural Africa Cup of Nations. At a momentous conference conducted on February 8th, 1957 at the Grand Hotel in Khartoum, CAF was formally established.

Read also  Msimamo EPL 2022/2023 English Premier League Table

Abdel Aziz Abdallah Salem of Egypt was unanimously elected president after the confederation’s laws were adopted, making him the organization’s first president.

Following the first CAF General Assembly, the Africa Cup of Nations was established on February 10, 1957, in the capital of Sudan, which was won by Egypt.

With several wonderful experiences along the road to help establish the qualities and aspects associated with African football, it would turn out to be the beginning of an exciting journey that continues to this day.

See also  Matokeo ya AFCON 2022/2023

TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations Presidents.

  • Abdel Aziz Abdallah Salem (Egypt): 1957 – 1958
  • Abdel Aziz Mostafa (Egypt): 1958 – 1968
  • Abdel Halim Mohamed (Sudan): 1968 – 1972
  • Ydnekatchew Tessema (Ethiopia): 1972 – 1987
  • Abdel Halim Mohamed (Sudan): 1987 – 1988
  • Issa Hayatou: (Cameroon): 1988 – 2017
  • Ahmad Ahmad: (Madagascar: 2017 – 2021
  • Patrice Motsepe: (South Africa) 2021 –

TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations Competitions.

Men Competition.

  1. TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations
  2. TotalEnergies Africa Nation Champpionship
  3. Qualified FIFA World Cup
  4. Beach Soccer Africa Cup Of Nation

Clubs Competition.

  1. TotalEnergies CAF Champion League
  2. TotalEnergies CAF Confederation League
  3. TotalEnergies Super Cup

Women Competition

  1. TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League
  2. TotalEnergies Women’s Africa Cup of Nations

women afcon

Youth Competition.

  1. TotalEnergies U-23 Africa Cup of Nations
  2. TotalEnergies U-20 Africa Cup of Nations

  3. TotalEnergies U-17 Africa Cup of Nations

 Read Also  Ratiba Ya AFCON 2023
Nkai Mongo is the man behind all sports content. He is 23 professional blogger with strong passion. He usually hangs out in Twitter and other social networks to gather latest updates.